Started on The Broke and The Bookish this meme is all about gearing up for 2012.

 

10) Swordspoint By Ellen Kushner  On the treacherous streets of Riverside, a man lives and dies by the sword. Even the nobles on the Hill turn to duels to settle their disputes. Within this elite, dangerous world, Richard St. Vier is the undisputed master, as skilled as he is ruthless–until a death by the sword is met with outrage instead of awe, and the city discovers that the line between hero and villain can be altered in the blink of an eye. I recently purchased the audiobook through Audible. I’ve yet to start it but I’m waiting for the right moment an a cup of tea to listen.

9) The Last Unicorn By Peter S. Beagle

From The Last Unicorn:
“The unicorn lived in a lilac wood, and she lived all alone. She was very old, though she did not know it, and she was no longer the careless color of sea foam, but rather the color of snow falling on a moonlit night. But her eyes were still clear and unwearied, and she still moved like a shadow on the sea…”

This has been on my TBR list for quite awhile. I need to find a copy and start reading.

8) The Hunger Games  by Suzanne Collins Do I really need to put up a summary? I think this has been one of the most recommended books since Harry Potter.

7) Howl’s Moving Castle By Diana Wynne Jones In the land of Ingary, such things as spells, invisible cloaks, and seven-league boots were everyday things. The Witch of the Waste was another matter. After fifty years of quiet, it was rumored that the Witch was about to terrorize the country again. So when a moving black castle, blowing dark smoke from its four thin turrets, appeared on the horizon, everyone thought it was the Witch. The castle, however, belonged to Wizard Howl, who, it was said, liked to suck the souls of young girls. The Hatter sisters–Sophie, Lettie, and Martha–and all the other girls were warned not to venture into the streets alone. But that was only the beginning.

I’ve seen the movie so many times I quote it without really paying attention. I really want to read this book and see just what I’m missing.

6) The Golden Compass – Phillip Pullman Another YA I missed it’s first time around.

5) The Gunslinger  By Stephen King –  I think I might be admitting to a Sin here when I say I haven’t read The Gunslinger. I hope to rectify that this year.

4) Under the Dome By Stephen King – another one that looks rather interesting and I’m  hoping to get a chance to sit down and read it this year.

3) The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern Hope this lives up to the hype.

2) The Protector’s War by S.M. Stirling Emberverse #2 Really looking forward to this one.

1) Dies the Fire By S.M. Stirling Emberverse #1 Mostly because I couldn’t wait and started this one yesterday. I’m already hooked, don’t want chapters to end and really like his writing.

