Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

Finally, the magic ends. I admit I was late to the party. I past the series off as just another children’s story. I didn’t read the first book, and laughed when they decided to make it into a movie. And then the movie was released and I decided, on a whim, to rent it. And I was enchanted.

I watched the second movie in theatres. At this point I had not read any of the novels, but shortly after I saw the second movie, I sat down and started reading. I devoured book three, then book four, skipped back to book two.

Book five I was less impressed but Harry’s Cap’s lock of Rage was a little overpowering. Still by that time I was a little Pottered out. I took a break, kept up with the movies and avoided book six like the plague. Mostly because I was spoiled.

Just prior to the sixth movie’s release, I read the book, loved it, and loved the movie. Book seven though, I once again avoided. I didn’t want it to be over.

I didn’t want to lose the magic. The movie would come out and that would be soon enough to read it. Even after the Part one came out I hesitated. It wasn’t until the afternoon before Part II premiered I bought the book. I set down to read it, and read most of it in two weeks. But still, I didn’t want it to end.

So I’ve been avoiding the book. Until this week, when finally I decided to pick it up again. And my god, I loved every word, I cried with every death, I cheered with every victory. I was once again enchanted and taken away to a world not my own.

I desperately loved this book. I can’t help but give it five stars and not just because it’s the final chapter on Harry. It’s part of my life. It’s Hogwarts and it’s magic and it’s fairy-tale and it’s home. And in a way it will never end. It’s become so much apart of everything that it can’t ever end. Just change form.

That’s what happens with all the good ones. I mean the really good ones. The ones we’ve been telling since we lived in caves. They’re the ones that speak to us beyond the pages, beyond the lines in a book. They have a life of their own and they change the world around for everyone who’s read them.

View all my reviews

