Sailing to Sarantium (The Sarantium Mosaic)

There are probably ones that are older, much older; namely though I acquired from my grandfather’s attic after he passed. But for longevity, I think this book actually tops most of them. I got it for Christmas the year it came out, from my aunt, Daphne. It’s perhaps one of my many favourites by Kay, although Tigana is number one.

It took me a while to sit down and curl up with this book, as usual with Kay’s works, I have to work through the prologue/first chapter to get to the meat of the novel. I think this is due to Kay’s habit of starting most of his novels off in a third person omniscient perspective. It’s the narrator voice, and while it does have it’s place, I need to push myself through it just so I can get into the character’s mind.

Crispin’s POV is wonderful and refreshing and funny. And I think he had a lot to do with why I loved this book so much. Once I finished it I went out and bought the follow-up Lord of Emperors immediately. I’ve read them three times, and I think next year they will end up on my TBR pile once more.

 

Previous Posts: 1/2/3

