I’ve been rather busy this first week of 2011. Family was still down from Christmas, there was the post Christmas rush of taking all the decorations down and gettting them back up in the attic. Also the post New Year’s exhaustion from work. And my own personal freak out about work in general and my plan to move by April.

So I haven’t really had time to post, or even look at most of my online journals. The only thing I’ve looked at with any regularity is Raverly, and that has more to do with stalking pretty patterns and updating my queue than anything else.

Christmas was. . . all right. It was busy and things didn’t go the way I’d hoped, but family was around, and there was a lot of food and we were all safe so what do I really have to complain about? We nicknamed mom Aunt Bethany this Christmas for a batch of present mix-ups. Two of mine ended up at my grandmothers with different names on them. She rather missed the mark with what I call the build your own cult kits (A.K.A the Snuggie), she gave dad and I one. That being said, they’re warm, my arms aren’t cold and they don’t get in the way of my knitting. So, not as much of a miss as all that.

Before Christmas I picked up some yarn, I plan to do the same next week as well. All the pics are up on my ravelry page. I’ll spare you guys the details of the yarn, and share the projects on my knitting blog.

I mentioned on my twitter, I now have netflix. I wasn’t sure at first, thought it would be just something else with not much on. But I’ll tell you, I’ve been watching it consistently. I seem to be in a Jeff Bridges sort of mood since seeing Tron: Legacy over Christmas. Although I guess I could also say I’m in a Brit movie/series mood as well.

I find I’m easily distracted right now. I’m not really paying attention to what I’m doing. The Tv is on, I just finished watching Immortal Beloved, and I just started North and South (Brit Miniseries). Between watching those movies and reading Guy Gavriel Kay books, my monologue is almost completely stuck with an English accent right now. (And before you say it, I’m well aware that Kay is a Canadian author. Read one of his books and try not to develop an English narration. It’s his writing style, another reason I love his novels so much.

Before I leave I must add one more thing. I’ve joined 43things, and one of my resolutions is to take a picture a day. Well here is picture number one:

Ornaments in Snow

Ornaments in Snow

Anyway, I just wanted to update everyone and let them know I’m still kicking, and not just on twitter either.

Currently Reading: Lions of Al-Rassan By Guy Gavriel Kay, Under Heaven By Guy Gavriel Kay
Current Project: Fiddlead Mittens
Currently Watching: North and South Episode One.

